Empire of Sand

Empire of Sand

eBook - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
8
Publisher: New York, NY : Orbit, 2018
ISBN: 9780316449700
Characteristics: 1 online resource
text file
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc. - Distributor

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
v
vgempis
Jan 25, 2020

I'm a sucker for lady-led fantasy, and Tasha Suri's "Empire of Sand" ticks all the boxes for me. It also has the added bonus about giving me all the feels about growing up on the periphery of a dominant culture while trying to hold true to your own cultural identity (a lot of biracial and/or third culture kids can relate, I'm sure).

Mehr would not be the character you'd normally think about when you hear the term "Strong Female Character," but that's exactly what she is. She doesn't wield a sword or fight with her fists, but she's strong in subtler, more subversive ways: the quiet steel in holding true to herself and where she came from in the face of a country and a court that looks down on her; the considered choices she makes to retain some of her own power when it seems she has no control; the defiance in the face of unimaginable power.

And the world Tasha Suri has created is lush and beautiful with a magic system I really love. Choice, consent, and identity are huge themes throughout, and the ending is such a satisfying payoff. I can't recommend this book enough.

CCPL_Laura Jan 15, 2020

Suri’s lush, dazzling, and exciting debut is inspired by the 15th-century Mughal-Indian empire. Her writing style is captivating, much like the rites Mehr and her fellow captive Amun must perform for the Emperor’s dark intentions. From beginning to end, readers will hang onto Suri’s every word, tip-toeing across the delicate political landscape as Mehr attempts to shatter the political and magical balance of the empire. Fans of S.A. Chakraborty, Juliet Marillier, and Naomi Novik will devour this remarkable novel.

w
WoodneathReads
May 13, 2019

I have so many feelings about Empire of Sand, I'm not even sure where to start gushing.

Okay, first--the setting. Tasha Suri's Mughal-inspired fantasy world is not only stunningly beautiful, but it's also complex in a way that all too many fantasy settings aren't. The cultures that Suri created feel *real* and they add fascinating dimensions to her already-excellent characters. Speaking of which...

Mehr was an unusual but amazing protagonist. She's not your typical "strong female character" in that she's no warrior, but her strength of will and unshakeable moral core makes her easy to love. And then there's the love interest--totally dreamy, but the absolute opposite of the pervasive alpha male stereotype.

Lastly, Empire of Sand is a book about choice. We may not have control over every aspect of our lives, but it's our choices in tough situations that show us who we really are. I think that's an amazing theme and made even the darkest parts of this book shine with a peculiar light.

Long story short: if you love epic fantasy, Empire of Sand is one of the best. Check it out today! --Lizzie (for more of Lizzie's suggestions, follow WoodneathLizzie)

w
WoodneathLizzie
Mar 28, 2019

I have so many feelings about Empire of Sand, I'm not even sure where to start gushing.

Okay, first--the setting. Tasha Suri's Mughal-inspired fantasy world is not only stunningly beautiful, but it's also complex in a way that all too many fantasy settings aren't. The cultures that Suri created feel *real* and they add fascinating dimensions to her already-excellent characters. Speaking of which...

Mehr was an unusual but amazing protagonist. She's not your typical "strong female character" in that she's no warrior, but her strength of will and unshakeable moral core makes her easy to love. And then there's the love interest--totally dreamy, but the absolute opposite of the pervasive alpha male stereotype.

Lastly, Empire of Sand is a book about choice. We may not have control over every aspect of our lives, but it's our choices in tough situations that show us who we really are. I think that's an amazing theme and made even the darkest parts of this book shine with a peculiar light.

Long story short: if you love epic fantasy, Empire of Sand is one of the best. Check it out today!

v
VPAL7
Feb 14, 2019

I devoured this book, everything about it was fantastic. From the rich descriptions of the desert and mystical spirits, to the intriguing main character and her journey of growth, I was completely captivated. The story was gut-wrenching and tender by turns. The writing was beautiful and the world building was inventive and it bears mentioning that the author did a lot of research on the Mughal empire to inspire her world. One of the aspects that I find particularly refreshing about this book is how much Mehr loved her heritage and culture, I think it's empowering.

a
ApollosRaven
Jan 15, 2019

Excellent Asian-inspired fantasy. This author is very good, and may get even better. A series to watch.

JCLHebahA Nov 13, 2018

I. Loved. This. Fabulous, rich setting and a heroine to root for. This isn't a story about going off to become a fighter, but it is one about tapping into deep resilience and not losing sight of who you are--and what you value--in the face of oppression. Add in a dash of romance, and it's just a wonderful story.

JCLGreggW Sep 18, 2018

A thrilling and powerful South-Asian-inspired fantasy novel about a young woman with hidden magic in her blood. Rich world, fully-developed characters with action and a bit of romance - this works as a standalone, but left me wanting more from this world. A 2018 standout.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at STPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top